The first call for the financing of  EU-funded standard projects, whose budget is €84.6 million, has been published: deadline for submitting project proposals has been postponed from 9th November 2017 to 15th December 2017.

According to the Programming document, a fifth of the financial allocation for Cross-Border Cooperation (CBC) under the European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI) total budget – € 1 billion – is dedicated to the Mediterranean Sea Basin Programme. This makes the Programme the largest one from a financial point of view out of 16 other programmes to be implemented with Partner Countries to the East and South of EU’s external borders.

Amongst the topics addressed by the call, are the challenges linked to territorial economic growth through the development of small and medium-sized enterprises, the driving role of innovation and research, social inclusion and the fight against poverty, and finally the protection of environment and adaptation to climate change. Project proposals shall be presented by partnerships composed of a minimum of 3 different eligible countries, including at least one EU Mediterranean Country and one Mediterranean Partner Country. Proposals must implement activities in the eligible territories of the countries participating in the ENI CBC MED Programme, namely:

  • Cyprus (whole country),
  • Egypt (Ad Daqahliyah, Al Buhayrah, Al Iskandanyah, Al Isma’iliyah, Ash Sharquiyah, Bur Sa’id, Dumyat, Kafr ash Shaykh, Marsa Matruh);
  • France (Corse, Languedoc-Roussillon, Provence-AlpesCôte d’Azur);
  • Greece (Anatoliki Makedonia – Thraki, Attiki, Dytiki Ellada, Ionia Nisia, Ipeiros, Kentriki Makedonia, Kriti, Notio Aigaio, Peloponnisos, Sterea Ellada, Thessalia, Voreio Aigaio);
  • Israel (whole country);
  • Italy (Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Lazio, Liguria, Puglia, Sardegna, Sicilia, Toscana);
  • Jordan (Al-Aqaba, Al-Balga, Al-Karak, Al-Tafilah, Irbid, Madaba)
  • Lebanon (whole country)
  • Malta (whole country)
  • Palestine (whole country)
  • Portugal (Algarve, Lisboa)
  • Spain (Andalucía, Cataluña, Ceuta, Comunidad Valenciana, Islas Baleares, Melilla, Murcia)
  • Tunisia (Ariana, Béja, Ben Arous, Bizerte, Gabès, Jandouba, Mahdia, Médenine, Monastir, Nabeul, Sfax, Sousse, Tunis)

The Programme provides a framework for implementing cooperation projects in four main thematic objectives:

  • Business and SMEs development, through support to start-up enterprises and the enhancement of Euro-Mediterranean value chains and clusters. Diversification of tourism into new segments and niches is also part of this objective.
  • Support to education, research, technological development and innovation, with focus on technological transfer, commercialization of research results and enhancement of links between industry and research.
  • Promotion of social inclusion and the fight against poverty, addressing the NEETS category (Not in Education, Employment or Training) as well actors from the social and solidarity economy.
  • Environmental protection, climate change adaptation and mitigation, including efficiency in water, waste and energy management as well as conservation of coastal areas.

Don’t miss the opportunity to cooperate!

Leave a Reply